Front page

Heroines of Sound


Upcoming December concerts:

Århus Sinfonietta plays WATER LIKE A STONE (1997) in Randers, Aarhus and Skive, Denmark, 1st-3rd December, alongside music by Line Tjørnhøj, Birgitte Alsted and Thomas Agerfeldt Olesen.

And Ensemble KNM plays PROMPT, IMMEDIATE, NOW / VERY RESTRAINED AND CAUTIOUS (2013) at Berlin's Heroines of Sound Festival/HAU2 on 7th December, alongside work by Jessie Marino, Ana Maria Rodriguez and Katharina Rosenberger

Aarhus Sinfonietta Christmas Tour
Heroines of Sound: Programme, Day 2

November 21st

Berlin concerts


Upcoming in Berlin:

Ensemble KNM performs PROMPT, IMMEDIATE, NOW / VERY RESTRAINED AND CAUTIOUS (2013) on 21st September 2018, at NordiConTempo Festival / Kesselhaus, alongside works by Malin Bång, Clara Ianotta, Mansoor Hosseini, Simon Steen-Andersen and Mauro Godoy Villa-Lobos.

Sonar Quartett and Andreas Borregaard perform AND HAVE NOW FORGIVEN EVERYTHING (2018) on 15th October 2018 at Kontraklang / Heimathafen, alongside works by Jennifer Walshe, Marc Sabat and Li-Ying Wu.

Phoenix16 + noiserkroiser perform an expanded version of SOMETHING IN CAPITALS (2017) on 31st October 2018 at Heimathafen, alongside works by James Dillon, Hans Zender, Brian Ferneyhough, Jonathan Harvey, Vladan Radovanovic and electronic pioneer duo Louis & Bebe Barron.

September 20th

Atonal music all around!

The S-Bahn Berlin is planning a pilot project in September, to disperse homeless people from S-Bhf Hermannstraße with the use of atonal music in the entrance hall.

Atonal music all around?? Great idea! Many thanks to the S-Bahn for this impulse; the initiative neue musik berlin invites everyone to turn up on 24th August at 7pm at the station entrance, bringing food, drink and atonal music for everyone. See the Facebook event for current details.

August 22nd

And have now

New work

On 16th September, accordionist Andreas Borregaard and Sonar Quartett from Berlin will premiere Juliana Hodkinson's new work AND HAVE NOW FORGIVEN EVERYTHING (2018), at the Open Days Festival, Utzon Center, Aalborg - alongside works by Maja Ratkje, Li-Ying Wu, Bent Sørensen and Nicolai Worsaae.

AND HAVE NOW FORGIVEN EVERYTHING is commissioned by Andreas Borregaard and Sonar, with support from the Danish Arts Foundation and Danish Composers' Society. Borregaard and Sonar will perform the new work also on 15th October 2018 in the Kontraklang concert series in Heimathafen, Berlin.

Open Days festival programme

August 16th

Distributing opera

Agile Opera Digital is launched as an online resource for approaches to adapting live opera to digital and spatial forms, and concludes an extensive research project at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. Juliana Hodkinson and Cynthia Troup's opera TURBULENCE (2013) is one of the works at the heart of the Agile Opera collaboration between Chamber Made Opera and RMIT.

TURBULENCE has been presented as: live performance; film - by Peter Humble - (online, outdoor cinema and gallery installation); radio broadcast; sampled and remixed within other compositions, and in combined film and live performance versions.

Agile Opera Digital presents a video keynote presentation by Juliana Hodkinson and interview with outgoing Chamber Made Opera executive producer Tim Stitz, from the MicroLab seminar held at RMIT in December 2016.

Presentation and interview video

July 1st

Da, for 'Darmstadt'

Juliana Hodkinson is Visiting Composer at the Darmstadt Summer School 2018, with performances of her music and teaching activities. On 16th July, Speak Percussion will perform two works written for them - LIGHTNESS (2015) and THRESH (2018, commissioned by the Darmstadt Summer School), and on 24th July Frauke Aulbert and Malgorzata Walentynowicz will perform X&X (2017), which Juliana Hodkinson and Niels Rønsholdt composed together for Monika Pasiecznik's curated programme Série Rose.

Juliana Hodkinson will join Gunnhildur Einarsdottir, Liza Lim and Martin Iddon, mentoring composers at the harp workshop, and is also available for individual and group composition lessons.

Darmstadt Summer Course programme

June 22nd

Alles Anders Ändern

MusikTexte's May edition, No. 157, carries Martin Schüttler's Laudatio from the Stuttgart Composition Prize for Juliana Hodkinson and Malte Giesen, along with Juliana Hodkinson's short text 'Alles Anders Ändern', and texts by and about Julia Mihaly, Malte Giesen, Heinz Holliger, Dieter Schnebel, Wolfgang Rihm, Maximilian Marcoll, Johannes Schöllhorn, Herrmann Keller, Klaus K. Hübler, Øyvind Torvund, Hans-Joachim Hespos and more.

Order MusikTexte No. 157

May 6th

Angel View Movie


ANGEL VIEW MOVIE (2018) opens 4th May 2018 at Rum46/Spor Festival, Aarhus, and runs until 6th May, showing 2pm-5pm each day. There's an artists' talk at Rum46 on Sunday 6th May 12.30pm-1pm.

ANGEL VIEW MOVIE is a film installation, developed in collaboration with filmmaker Michael Madsen and Scenatet, from Juliana Hodkinson's music-theatre score ANGEL VIEW (2014).

Music and composition: Juliana Hodkinson / Video and direction: Michael Madsen / Performance and production: Scenatet/ Editing: Stefan Sundlöf / Sound mix: Peter Weinsheimer

Spor Festival programme

May 4th

Diversity in music

This year again at Talk Town - Copenhagen's debate festival for equality and gender - the Danish Composers' Union is hosting a programme of events, getting together music professionals to discuss methods for more diversity. On 3rd May at 3pm, composers Bent Sørensen and Juliana Hodkinson, anthropologist Tinna C. Nielsen from Move the Elephant and Georg Rasmussen from Click Festival form a panel moderated by Lene Johansen to look at how to open up music programming to greater variety of all kinds.

Following on from the panel debate, at 5pm Juliana Hodkinson moderates a panel of composers from ex-Jugoslavian countries, whose string quartets will be performed by the Antarja Quartet at 6pm: Urška Pompe, Sanda Majurec, Jana Andreevska, Isidora Žebeljan, Laura Čuperjani Mjeda, Valentina Velkovska Trajanovska and Ivana Stefanović.

Music & Diversity at Talk Town
Uhørte klange

April 23rd


New work

On 11th April, Norwegian trio Poing! gives the first performance of PASS (2018), at Sentralen in Oslo, as part of the Periferien concert series.

PASS is commissioned by Poing! with the support of the Norwegian Arts Council.

Listeners are central to the unfolding of this work . Together with the musicians of Poing! they form a temporary collective, uphold a colourful assemblage, extract a drone - in short, they are invited to co-create a resonant and illuminated environment, within which to enjoy moderate and meaningful dissonance, and find an adequate balance between aesthetic materiality and spirituality.

Pass with Poing

March 19th